Parenting Tips: Homework Help For Kids

• Work-from-home

Silent_lyf

Heart's Raaz
TM Star
Sep 20, 2013

One of the biggest frustrations I heard from parents when I was a classroom teacher was the uncertainty of how the parent could give homework help to their kids. I understood and could relate to this frustration because I had two girls at home and just because I was a classroom teacher did not mean that homework help was any easier.
Many times kids do not want to do homework; there are lots of other things they would much rather be doing. Trying to make the homework experience as comfortable as possible is the best thing a parent can do for their kids. There will probably always be some type of reluctance from kids to do homework, but the more positive experiences they have with homework, the greater chance that kids and homework may become manageable.
Here you will find tips for parents that hopefully will make homework help for kids easier and more enjoyable. These homework parenting tips come from my personal experience as a parent and from experiences as a classroom teacher.
Allocate a Homework Area
Kids need a quiet spot in the home to do their homework; the area should be well lit and there should be minimal amount of distractions. The homework designated area should be far enough from the family so there is not a lot of noise but yet close enough if your child needs homework help, you will be able to get to him or her relatively quickly.

Keep Plenty of Office Supplies in the Homework Area
It is important for kids to have everything they need to complete their homework at the tips of their fingers. An important aspect of helping kids with homework is making sure they have sharpened pencils, sharpener, erasers, highlighters, paper and anything else they need to complete their homework successfully.

Have a Set Time Each Night for Homework